More than 800 new electric vehicle charging outlets coming to New Jersey

The Chevrolet Bolt EV is shown on stage at the 2017

New Jersey will spend $3.2 million to build 827 electric vehicle charging outlets across the state, more than doubling the number of places motorists can go to recharge their cars, officials announced Thursday. 
The state will also spend $8 million to buy eight electric NJ Transit buses for the city of Camden, officials at the state Department of Environmental Protection said.
The money comes from New Jersey's share of the federal government's multi-billion-dollar settlement with Volkswagen after the German car manufacturer had installed "defeat devices" in diesel-fueled cars to falsify how much harmful emissions they were emitting.

Gov. Phil Murphy's administration has been criticized for diverting more than half of the $141 million last year to balance the current state budget. 
Despite improvements, air quality in New Jersey is still among the most polluted in the nation, according to the American Lung Association's annual report. 
New Jersey continues to get failing grades for smog, and transportation emits 71 percent of the state's nitrogen oxide - a main ingredient in smog. Transportation is the biggest producer of greenhouse gases in the state at 46 percent. 
The $3.2 million will be used to purchase and install outlets in 55 municipalities and counties, at NJ Transit train stations, public parking lots and garages, apartment and condominium complexes, car-share services, hotels, private companies and nonprofit organizations.
Of all public entities, NJ Transit is looking to is stall the most chargers with 53 spread out among eight rail stations including 10 for its Metro Park station, 3 for Wayne and two for the Meadowlands. A full list is below.
Rutgers is looking to install 50 at its three campuses in New Brunswick, Newark and Camden. The City of Passaic and Paterson are requesting 11 and 10 chargers, respectively, while a smaller town like Ridgewood is requesting one.
This is the first round of Volkswagen money for charging stations. Murphy said he would use $10.8 million of the settlement for electric-vehicle charging stations.
New Jersey has 786 charging outlets at 322 public locations across the state.

New EV Charging Stations

Below is a list of public entities requesting some of the $3.2 million to build new charging outlets: 
  • Borough of Bound Brook 
  • Borough of Fanwood 
  • Borough of Fort Lee / Fort Lee Parking Authority
  • Borough of Haddon Heights
  • Borough of Haledon
  • Borough of Keyport
  • Borough of Lake Como 
  • Borough of Leonia 
  • Borough of Maywood 
  • Borough of Milltown 
  • Borough of Oradell 
  • Borough of Paramus 
  • Borough of Red Bank 
  • Borough of Tinton Falls
  • Borough of Wharton 
  • Borough of Woodcliff Lake 
  • Bridgewater Township 
  • Camden County 
  • City of Atlantic City 
  • City of Cape May 
  • City of East Orange 
  • City of Egg Harbor 
  • City of Hoboken 
  • City of Jersey City 
  • City of Passaic 
  • City of Paterson Parking Authority 
  • City of Pleasantville
  • City of Somers Point 
  • City of Summit 
  • City of Ventnor 
  • Clarence Dillon Public Library 
  • Community Medical Center 
  • County of Bergen
  • County of Burlington 
  • County of Essex 
  • County of Hudson 
  • NJ Transit - Metro Park 
  • NJ Transit - Hamilton 
  • NJ Transit - Trenton 
  • NJ Transit - Princeton Junction 
  • NJ Transit - Meadowlands 
  • NJ Transit - Wayne 
  • NJ Transit - Greenwall 
  • NJ Transit - MMC/ROC 
  • North Hudson Sewerage Authority
  • Raritan Borough Environmental Commission
  • Roselle Board of Education
  • Rutgers University - Camden 
  • Rutgers University - Newark
  • Rutgers University - New Brunswick
  • South Jersey Transportation Authority - Farley Service Plaza
  • South Jersey Transportation Authority - Atlantic City Welcome
  • Center
  • Township of Bloomfield
  • Township of Cherry Hill 
  • Township of Egg Harbor 
  • Township of Lawrence 
  • Township of Little Falls 
  • Township of Long Beach
  • Township of Moorestown 
  • Township of Mount Holly 
  • Township of Parsippany 
  • Township of Sparta 
  • Township of Springfield 
  • Township of Teaneck 
  • Township of Warren 
  • Village of Ridgewood 
  • West New York Parking Authority 
  • West Windsor Parking Authority 

Post a Comment